Night Sun – Mournin’ : Kraut / Prog / Doom / boogie cool.

Any regulars to this blog know that I have a very very soft and welcoming spot for prog and krautrock. Maybe its a gen x thing.  I’m not sure where it comes from.   Like absolutely every other musical genre without exception, the truly great prog music was hidden and acting as influence to the music that filtered through the deeply conservative mediums of television, radio, and label distribution.  (Im starting to think music is the most conservative of all the artistic outlets – particularly when you see the control over what the ‘public’ has access to.)

Today’s little gem is another of these stunning background numbers.

Night Sun were a German heavy prog/metal band consisting of Bruno Schaab (vocals, bass), Walter Kirchgassner (guitar), Knut Rossler (organ, piano, trumpet, bassoon) and Ulrich Staudt (drums).

Just check this out:

HOW freakin’ cool is that?

Their only album, Mournin’, was released in 1972 on Polydor’s Zebra label. Schaab’s vocals recalled the screams of Ian Gillan from Deep Purple. The group played a loud, Deep Purple/Black Sabbath/Led Zeppelin style rock, with a characteristic “heavy progressive” instrumentation of twin guitars, organ, bass and drums. The album was produced by Konrad Plank (whose production credits includeKraftwerk’s early output and Ash Ra Tempel) at the Windrose Studio, Hamburg.

Here’s the track listing:

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Plastic shotgun (2:34)

2. Crazy woman (4:22)

3. Got a bone of my own (7:45)

4. Slush pan man (4:25)

5. Living with the dying (5:31)

6. Come down (5:48)

7. Blind (4:24)

8. Nightmare (3:16)

9. Don’t start flying (3:07)

Total Time: 41:12

With their sudden shifts of rhythm structures, guitar-with-organ riffing style and some studio effects, particularly phasing, Night Sun fortunately never went too close to the ordinary boogie and rock’n’roll trap. What you have here is terrific instrumental battles and screaming vocals.

Night Sun’s origins lay in the late 1960s jazz band Take Five who were popular in the Rhine Neckar Area of Germany.

Take Five consisted of Werner “Steff” Stephan (vocals), Edmund Seiboth (trumpet), Knut Rössler (saxes/trombone/flute/keyboards), Freddie Münster (saxes), Frieder Schmitt (keyboards/voc), Hans Brandeis (guitar/vocals), Torsten duke (bass/vocals) and Karl-Heinz weber (drums).

The album opens with “Plastic Shotgun,” a strangely syncopated stop-go explosiveness, both guitar and organ ablaze with intensity and is over before you’ve ingested it. “Crazy Woman” also features an awesome organ and guitar battle and some nifty psychedelic drumming. “Got A Bone Of My Own” is a prog-a-rific instrumental; “Slush Pan Man” has some great mid-tempo sludgy riffs and a pounding organ. “Nightmare” is by far the sickest thing you’ll find on this album — a hopping mad display of riffage and groove – a veritable sound orgasm pulsing with heated life.  It’s a fun thrilling album – just like so much music that was produced in this particular year.  Enjoy the little bits posted here and see if you can land yourself a copy. Its a must for any good prog / kraut collection.  (I got help from Mad Hatter Music for this part of the review)